Login Register

GOLF: Malcolm Tucker takes top prize amongst Fosseway seniors

By HarryAbbott  |  Posted: November 27, 2013

The seniors' section at Fosseway Golf Club celebrated another successful season with a presentation lunch at the Centurion Hotel in Midsomer Norton

Comments (0)

The seniors’ section at Fosseway Golf Club celebrated another successful season with a presentation lunch at the Centurion Hotel in Midsomer Norton.

Retiring captain Cyril Blacker reflected on a year in which the seniors won 12 of their social matches and gained possession of each of the three trophies that are up for grabs against Brean, Kingweston and Minchinhampton.

There has also been an excellent performance in the Somerset Rose Bowl, where the club tied 2.5-2.5 with Saltford only to lose out on the play-off hole.

Blacker thanked committee members and competition organisers and paid tribute to Allen Cheney, who again organised the Seniors’ Open but has now decided to stand down. Gerry Rowell and Terry Button are taking over.

The captain thanked the groundstaff for all their work and was delighted to hear that George Bidmead had been rewarded for all his hard work on the course by being chosen as the company’s “Employee of the Year”.

Blacker said it had been an honour to be captain for a second time and wished successor Ray Lake and the elected vice-captain George Underwood every success for the coming year.

The player of the year and recipient of the Roger Tabb Trophy for the second year running was Malcolm Tucker, who won five events including the Winter League, Mark Bridges Cup and Colin Eaton Vase.

Howard Nowell enjoyed another prolific year, winning four events including the Seniors’ Open and both the winter eclectic gross and nett cups.

John Wighton was club champion after winning the Rupert Moore Cup and Cheney captured the Rod Bruce Scratch Championship. Gerald Rowell won both the summer eclectic gross and nett cups.

Trophy winners:

Player of the Year: M Tucker.

Guerwyn Thomas Cup: 1 A Cheney & J Ticehurst, 2 H Nowell & J Wighton.

Smith & Broadway Trophy: 1 A Cheney & R Smith 2 J Ticehurst & B Lester.

Bill Lester Trophy: 1 G Broadway & G Underwood, 2 M Cage & R Curtis.

Colin Eaton Vase: 1 M Tucker, 2 B Lester.

Stan Brown Trophy: 1 D White & J Wighton, 2 T Button & R Smith.

Winter League: 1 M Tucker, 2 F Reeves.

Don Shearn Trophy: 1 C Moon, 2 G Hallett.

Clem Byrne Trophy: 1 H Nowell, A Bellinger & J Bendle, 2 C Moon, F Reeves & B Phelps.

Winter Eclectic Gross: 1 H Nowell, 2 C Blacker.

Winter Eclectic Nett: 1 H Nowell, 2 P Fitch.

Continuforms Trophy: 1 G Broadway, M Lester-Card & J Ticehurst, 2 J Appleton, R Lake & F Reeves.

Fosseway Seniors Open: 1 H Nowell, 2 J Curtis.

Groundsmans Trophy: 1 R Bruce & M Tucker, 2 M Ricketts & T Button.

Joe Hawkins Puttsome: 1 C Blacker & A Reeves, 2 F Reeves & M Case.

Rod Bruce Scratch Champion: 1 A Cheney, 2 D White.

Ted Cottle Over-70s: 1 B Phelps, 2 G Rowell.

Captain’s Trophy: 1 J Curtis, 2 R Smith.

Fouracres Trophy: 1 R Lake & G Rowell, 2 A Bellinger & H Nowell.

Mark Bridges Cup: 1 M Tucker, 2 A Pugh.

Committee Cup: 1 C Ellam & J Wighton, 2 T Button & G Underwood.

Eric James Cup: 1 G Hallett, 2 M Tucker.

Roger Tabb Cup: 1 M Tucker & G Hallett, 2 P Fitch & J Wighton.

Summer Eclectic Nett: G Rowell.

Summer Eclectic Gross: G Rowell.

Vic South Trophy: 1 J Bendle, T Button & J Wighton, 2 A Cheney, M Ricketts & M Tucker.

Seniors Championship: 1 J Wighton, 2 G Hallett.

Read more from Somerset Guardian

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters